"Optimizing Combat Casualty Care"

ISR among 10 nominees for Medical Excellence Award

By Steven Galvan, Public Affairs Officer
U.S. Army Institute of Surgical Research
2 JULY 2014

The U.S. Army Institute of Surgical Research (ISR) is among 10 nominees for the 7th Annual Major Jonathan Letterman Medical Excellence Award to be presented Oct.23 at Bethesda, Md. The award is named after Maj. Letterman who is known as “the Father of battlefield medicine.” Each year, an individual and an organization are recognized for their outstanding contributions to improving medical processes and patient outcomes.

In an e-mail from the Director of the Letterman Institute at the National Museum of Civil War Medicine wrote: “We are well aware of the tremendous merits of the USAISR and are pleased to formally recognize the vast contributions of USAISR to military and civilian medicine as an honoree at this year’s Letterman Dinner.”

“Being selected as an honoree for this award is a direct result of the remarkable staff at this Institute and the significant contributions made every day to optimizing combat casualty care,” said Col. (Dr.) Michael D. Wirt, ISR Commander.

According to the National Museum of Civil War Medicine website, the award was established in 2008 to honor individuals, military units or entities, companies, organizations or project groups who are leaders in innovative efforts in combat casualty care, prosthetic technology, or regenerative medicine, improving outcomes for patients with traumatic brain injuries incurred on the battlefield, or drawing on today’s cutting edge medical technology to develop new ways to assist Armed Forces members who have suffered severe disfiguring wounds. These innovations carry over into civilian life many times contributing to the advancement of medical processes and improved patient outcomes and quality of life for all.

The other organizational nominees are: Center for Neuroscience and Regenerative Medicine; Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center; McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine; and Naval Hospital Camp Lejeune Warrior Rehabilitation Team. The individual nominees are: Dr. Stephen F. Badylak, DVM, PhD, MD; Dr. Gary R. Gilbert, Col. USA (ret) PhD, MSC; John W. Lowe, President/CEO, Henry Jackson Foundation; Col. Peter J. Weina, PhD, MD, FACP, FIDSA; and Dr. Jason M. Wilken, PhD, MPT.